Confidence in nonsense is a requirement for the creative process

Something different


Some of you may have noticed that I back up my daily photo on this awesome site called 365Project. It’s a community of photographers much the same as Flickr but dedicated to the 365 project and has a lot of amateurs like me. Lots of fun. So one of the members issued an album cover challenge with the following rules.

1. Go to wikipedia and hit ‘random article’ on the left. The first random wikipedia article you get is the name of your band.
2. Go to quotationspage.com and hit ‘random quotes’ on the left. The last 4-6 words of the very last quote of the page is the title of your album.
3. Now go take a photo that fits with your album!
4. Use photoshop or similar to put it all together.

Processing is something I’m still warming up to..and graphic art is a little far at this point. But I thought I’d give it a go.

I got the band name as : Heytesbury street and the album name as ‘They are not different’.

Here’s what I came up with. I liked that it forced me to think beyond my usual sensibility and I may do a series.
What do you think?

16 responses

  1. This is a superb idea. Must try it out. 😀
    I loved what you got D.

    May 22, 2011 at 11:01 am

    • dhaami

      you should! It’s so much fun 🙂 Thank you

      May 22, 2011 at 2:58 pm

  2. Mugdha

    Super Super Like 🙂

    May 9, 2011 at 11:04 am

    • dhaami

      thank you 😀

      May 11, 2011 at 12:41 pm

  3. This is nice!

    It’s a real good interpretation, and it doesn’t look fake at all.

    I would totally listen to this album, if I saw this album cover, you know? 🙂

    May 7, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    • dhaami

      Thank you Ayushi! Guess I have a possible career option then 🙂

      May 8, 2011 at 12:59 pm

  4. Pingback: gossamer dreams

  5. lee

    Great creative idea and fantastic interpretation. I’m gonna have a go, though most graphic art work on PS is new to me, shall prob focu on the imagery. I have my band name and album title, now for the creation….

    May 6, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    • dhaami

      I’m glad you like the idea Lee. It’s rather fun. and thank you for the kind words.. I dont have PS either. I used the online photo editor http://www.picnik.com

      May 6, 2011 at 9:10 pm

  6. Great post-processing, Dhaami! I really like this as a possible cover for an album; if it was indie or alternative rock I’d totally buy it :). The name for the band and the title for the album work wonderfully together, too.
    I’d really like to try this, so I’ll keep my eyes open in case I see something that may work as an album cover.

    May 6, 2011 at 6:03 am

    • dhaami

      Thank you Belen! I’m glad you like the idea.. I constantly need motivators to keep creativity on its toes!

      May 6, 2011 at 10:28 am

  7. Kieran Hamilton

    I like it! It’s quite a cool idea, the whole random post thing, might give it a shot. I used to study graphic design many moons ago, could polish up on my old skills!

    May 6, 2011 at 5:14 am

    • dhaami

      oh please do! It will be fun. Also I will get an idea of how graphic artists work.. Is there any other software that I can use other than photoshop? I dont have PS and wanted to start with something simpler.

      May 6, 2011 at 10:30 am

  8. Pingback: New band name… lol « SaltyBill

  9. saltybi11

    I love things like this… I will have to try it!

    May 6, 2011 at 12:10 am

    • dhaami

      Hey Bill..glad you like it! checked out your album art and it’s cool! 🙂

      May 6, 2011 at 10:30 am

Leave a Reply

