Confidence in nonsense is a requirement for the creative process

I take a bow


The talented Deboshree has given me the versatile blogger award! 😀 It’s a chain award given out by bloggers to bloggers. I am grateful for it and had a long thank you speech ready..what with it being my first award in the blogospere and all .. but my Versace gown is at the dry cleaners’ because I spilled mango juice on it. 😀

But I am very happy and excited to pass on the love and appreciation. Thank you so much Deboshree! I am thrilled.

So the rules are :
1. Link back to the blogger who gave you this award.
2. Share 7 things about yourself.
3. Pass the award along to 15 bloggers who you have recently discovered and who you think are fantastic!
4. Contact the bloggers you’ve picked and let them know about the award.

Fun!

First *drumroll please* , let’s focus on me.

1. ‘Dhaami’ is my nickname from when I was 3 years old. It’s pronounced as dhaa-mi with the ‘d’ like in ‘drum’ and ‘mi’ like ‘me’. It means ‘I am dumb’ in Marathi, my mother tongue. My family thought it would be funny to teach me to call myself dumb. They are loving like that. Also this was how I looked. So maybe they were right.

2. I buy shoes when I’m depressed. Which is a lot since I get depressed by a variety of situations like seeing a homeless child to watching a tear-jerking chick flick to having to wake at 5.30 every morning for a week. This ‘ahem’ condition has created severe space issues and has brought upon many a critical eye from friends and family. I refuse to tell you how many pairs I have.

3. I love cars.
My celica was the love of my life and I was absolutely shattered when I had to sell her when I moved back to India. It still hurts 😦

4. I may be among the minority here, but I was terribly relieved when I turned 30. I hated the drama, expectations and peer pressure of the teens and twenties and am having a blast in my 30s finally being myself without worrying about judgement. Plus I have decided to remain 18 till I die.

5. I have always wanted to be a pilot and join the Indian Air Force. But the IAF didn’t accept women at the time ( or maybe my Mom tricked me again). I still hope to get a sports pilot license and fly.

6. I absolutely cannot remember birthdays. I have been disowned by many people because of that.

7. I’ve wanted to marry Shahrukh Khan since I was 8 and I first saw him in his TV serial Fauji. I knew he was married then and even had an elaborate plan to get rid of his wife and then be a shoulder for him to cry on so that he would fall in love with me. I no longer think murder is the best way to win love. But I still hope to meet him and show him what he missed out on :p

And now to passing on the award to 15 great bloggers. These are in no particular order and I am choosing them because they inspire me.

1. A-Musing by Purba Ray : this lady knows funny.

2. Infinite Revelations by Ayushi: some of her poetry leaves me breathless

3. How I write is mine.. How you read is yours by Kavita: She can rhyme any word.

4. Tomatoes, Oranges and other Fruit by Kolembo: Another poet who gives me a headache ..in the best sense. He has disappeared for a while and I hope this award will force the aliens who abducted him, to release him back to earth.

5. Joshi Daniel Photography by Joshi Daniel: this guy tells volumes of stories through his fantastic portraits

6. The Quotidian Hudson by Robert: He blogs daily photos taken along the historic Hudson river in New York. Sticking to one subject is the hardest for me and I admire him for that.

7. Artismysanity by Sunsetseasoul: This lady takes beautiful landscape shots. I especially love her sunsets on the beach ..they have a great abstract quality which I want to but cannot manage.

8. Sunny Yellow Window by Ambika: Discovered this lady recently. Loving her photos.

9. 42 by Litterateuse: She made me fall in love with English all over again

10. Livelee by Lee: love his photos. They are different in a great way.

11. Sumpix by Kieran: He has an amazing quality to his photos which I cannot name but enjoy a lot.

12. Noisy Pilgrims by a bunch of engineers: I feel a kinship there. Plus love the photos.

13. 100 strangers by Neelima: I want to do this project but cannot get over my shyness to talk to people on the street. Admire her for that.

14. The Local Tea Party : Hilarious commentary on the way Indians speak English.

15. The other side of me by Mayank: again an amazing photography blog

22 responses

  1. Anindita

    I am not a writer so I am not sure if I will be able to express aptly what I want to say…the only saving grace is that you know me quite well…so hope you will be able to understand the emotions behind the words….ok ok…cutting down on the drama… ;p)
    Firstly, heartiest Congratulations!!! Is there any doubt that it is so well deserved?…And look how you have summed up yourself in those seven fascinating points! Truly speaking “dhaa-mi”….what’s in a name….people like you prove Shakespeare right over and over again!
    I probably told you this before but want to see how it sounds in writing ….I am in love with your writing and your photography! And I really liked Mayank’s comment – …”not sure if i should call you a writer who can photograph or a photographer who can write”…well said Mayank!
    Finaa big thank you for sharing the links of other great bloggers….I would love to read/see each of their works…

    April 3, 2013 at 12:06 pm

  2. Dhami – firstly thank you for the honor. That would be a kind of first. You have a way with words so am not sure if i should call you a writer who can photograph or a photographer who can write. Either ways – i love coming back to your blog again. Heres wishes you lot of everything that you want. Lets us know when you start to fly! 🙂

    May 5, 2011 at 11:09 am

    • dhaami

      You are welcome! you do deserve the award completely! And it also acts as a motivator, doesn’t it? When your work is appreciated?

      Thank you for saying that I can write 🙂 My secret alter ego wants to become a much loved writer! I will surely let everyone know when I start flying 😀

      May 6, 2011 at 10:20 am

  3. Pingback: My my.. I’m Versatile! « How I write, is mine…How you read, is yours

  4. First of all, I never knew you had a blog of your own… and girl, you can write!! Anyway, now that I do know, I am glad, and have already subscribed!! heheh
    Next – THANK YOUUUUU for passing the award to me… that’s so totally flattering, babes! Aata me kaay mhaanu…me khoopach majet aahe 🙂 Yup, I am a Bombay gal, so I can speak broken Marathi as well.. heheh

    Gee….the little tidbits you gave here about yourself, AWE-friggin-SOME!! You totally rock!! 🙂
    Umm..about the shoes, I think I can give you some company there… (husssshhhhhh)
    And birthdays…awwww… I am just the opposite! I can remember every darned birthday! Let’s do one thing.. I can become your birthday diary, and you can give me a ride in your plane when you get your license…what say? Deal? 😉
    And as for that Celica, you should have met me earlier, lady… and given her to me.. I would have taken real good care of her.. cuz I am like that with my things/people.. 🙂

    Anyway, thanks again… and it’s just superb knowing a little more about you!!!
    (hugs)

    May 4, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    • Oh.. and in case you don’t get the pingback to my thank you post, here is the url:
      http://kavisionz.wordpress.com/2011/03/10/my-my-im-versatile/

      Love yaaaaaa!!! 😀
      xoxoxo

      May 4, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    • dhaami

      aww..thank you my dear girl! Very sweet of you 🙂

      I like the deal of you remembering birthdays for me..but think twice before agreeing to be on my passenger seat..airplane or car.. just giving you a fair warning 😀

      so glad to meet a fellow shoes lover! I really do wish we had met before..then I could have given the car to you knowing it would be taken care of. Oh well! I’m still happy to have met you and had a chance to read your work 🙂

      May 5, 2011 at 7:11 am

  5. Here goes my post of thanks 🙂 http://sunnyellowindow.blogspot.com/2011/05/versatility-in-blogging.html

    May 3, 2011 at 9:24 am

  6. Well deserved, Dhaami! And thanks for the kind words :). I just want to state that you have two of this award, since I gave it to all my readers a short while ago, and you certainly deserve it!

    April 27, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    • dhaami

      Oh! I am sorry I missed that post Belen. Now I’m doubly happy. Thank you! 🙂

      April 28, 2011 at 7:47 am

  7. Why thank you.
    I don’t know about me but well deserved on your part.
    It is going to take me a couple of days to get my act together to follow through but … be on the lookout!

    April 27, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    • dhaami

      Thank you Robert! And I look forward to read about you 🙂

      April 28, 2011 at 7:44 am

  8. Kieran Hamilton

    Thank you so much for the award Dhaami, I didn’t expect that! It was great to read about you, you definitely deserve the award too. I can’t wait to have a look through all the other’s blogs 🙂

    April 27, 2011 at 3:28 am

    • dhaami

      You are welcome Kieran! And you inspire me with your photography so it’s a well deserved award for you! and about me, I was just trying to be goofy 🙂

      April 27, 2011 at 7:20 am

  9. Heyyy that was a pleasant surprise Dhaami! Checked your blog update now and am all ear-to-ear smiles now, thank you so much for the award!! And nice to read about you. Shall get the trophy rolling.

    April 26, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    • dhaami

      I’m glad I made you smile Ambika! I am really enjoying your blog 🙂 and thank you!

      April 27, 2011 at 7:18 am

  10. Since you like cars, how about taking a look at my blog on wacky cars! http://segmation.wordpress.com/2010/12/24/wacky-wonderful-art-cars-www-segmation-com/ and thanks for allowing my comment!

    April 26, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    • dhaami

      nice post on cars!

      April 27, 2011 at 7:17 am

  11. That was a very interesting list of points Dhaami. For starters, your nick has a wow history. I will teach people that as well; it’s a nice little addition to the little Marathi I know. 😀

    Like your shoes, I tend to buy books and stationery when I am depressed. Buying something we love is indeed a great stress-buster.

    Oh another SRK fan! 😀 I am one too and will loyally remain one. Though I have never had err, intense feelings for the man, but he inspires me in many ways.

    The bloggers’ list seems awe-inspiring. I will check them out. Thanks D! 😀

    April 26, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    • dhaami

      lol! yeah you can use that on your friends.

      And I love buying books and stationary as well! (though not as stupidly as shoes) ..agree that it’s a stress buster albeit an unhealthy one.

      and about SRK, you know how it is when we are kids! every feeling is intense 😀 I probably don’t feel the same way anymore but he is my all time favorite!

      And yes all these (along with you) are outstanding bloggers!

      April 27, 2011 at 7:14 am

  12. WOW! Thank you very much! 😀

    More than anything, thank you for putting up this fabulous list of bloggers. They all seem to be awesome!

    I don’t remember anyone’s birthdays either. It was great reading about you 😀

    April 26, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    • dhaami

      You are welcome my dear! But as I said I always look forward to your new posts 🙂

      April 27, 2011 at 7:10 am

Leave a Reply

