Confidence in nonsense is a requirement for the creative process

In the garden..


I’m staying with my parents this week.. it’s been a while or rather a few years that I spent such quiet time at home with no plans and doing absolutely nothing. It’s peaceful and I am spending a lot of time in our little garden.. which holds a lot of memories for me.. memories that had collected cobwebs and needed cleaning up..

of helping grandma collect flowers for her daily puja (worship).. she did these rituals sometimes like offering a 1000 ‘parijat’ flowers in a day.. so it would be me and my sister collecting them and counting..

of lying down on the swing at night dreaming lofty dreams thinking I could conquer the world while counting stars..

of talking to the palm trees and asking them the solution to all my ‘world-shattering’ teenage problems.. I seriously believed they listened. I still believe that.

of the summer afternoons spent playing board games and hopscotch in the yard..

I spent some time last night lying on the swing and staring at the stars. trying to will myself to dream those dreams..of a knight in shining armor who would sweep me to a place of joy.. or being a famous astronomer or creating beautiful art that brought tears to others.. and all i could think was that my back was hurting from the hard metal..

🙂

18 responses

  1. Wow, beautiful pics 🙂 High resolution! Loved dem.. 🙂 n totally green! mm… 🙂

    April 20, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    • dhaami

      Thank you for stopping by Madhumathi 🙂 And happy you liked them!

      April 21, 2011 at 6:56 pm

  2. Stunning pictures as always… 😀
    You have a way with the camera Dhaami.

    April 20, 2011 at 9:56 am

    • dhaami

      Thank you for saying that! It’s true love.. me and my camera 😀

      April 21, 2011 at 6:57 pm

  3. beautiful series

    April 20, 2011 at 7:03 am

    • dhaami

      Thank you!

      April 20, 2011 at 8:00 am

  4. A beautiful post! Loved the pictures and the read. The pic of the swing, made me go nostalgic! Loved the post.

    April 19, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    • dhaami

      Hi Ambika! Swings are such an inevitable part of our childhoods, isn’t it? I am glad to hear you like it ..thank you 🙂

      April 20, 2011 at 8:01 am

  5. Love the compositions and the colors. This garden is so lovely!

    April 19, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    • dhaami

      Thank you 🙂 And my mom will be happy to hear that!

      April 20, 2011 at 8:01 am

  6. Love!

    April 19, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    • dhaami

      🙂 thank you

      April 20, 2011 at 8:02 am

  7. Madz

    Nice!!
    Felt like I am at home… 😀

    April 19, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    • dhaami

      😀 good

      April 20, 2011 at 8:02 am

  8. lovely and nice colors!

    April 19, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    • dhaami

      Thank you Joshi! Also very happy that you stopped by here 🙂

      April 20, 2011 at 8:03 am

  9. Rudolf Vlček

    cool series!

    April 19, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    • dhaami

      Thanks Rudolf!

      April 20, 2011 at 8:03 am

Leave a Reply

