Confidence in nonsense is a requirement for the creative process

The Red Fort


got a chance to visit the Red Fort this weekend. For the uninitiated it is a 17th century fort complex and the seat of the Mughal Empire which ruled over Delhi and most of India for almost 400 years. Later it was used by the British as a military camp. It’s a UNESCO world heritage site since 2007.

As usual we were too late so all I could get were a few evening shots ..


The eye cannot fit the whole structure in..let alone the lens. It’s massive and hard to believe that it’s located in the extremely crowded old Delhi. Its an impressively large and beautiful structure.. A lot of the riches are gone but the architecture and size still speak of the grandeur of days gone by..

The Delhi gate: the Prime Minister of India raises the flag and addresses the nation from here every independence day. (I did not know that)

The Diwaan-e-Aam which originally was used as a pavilion for the emperor to meet with the public

The air was full of stories.. wonder what it would tell me if I asked..

20 responses

  1. some beautiful pictures.. love last one the most!

    Defiant Princess
    http://khanvibes.blogspot.com/

    March 19, 2011 at 11:35 am

    • dhaami

      Hey! thank you)

      March 19, 2011 at 8:34 pm

  2. Nice shots! You have worked hard. πŸ˜€

    March 19, 2011 at 10:38 am

    • dhaami

      I did πŸ™‚ Thanks Nethra

      March 19, 2011 at 8:34 pm

  3. Beautiful shots. These photographs remind me that I have yet to spend time in Delhi and see its wonderful history.

    March 17, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    • dhaami

      Thanks Sudha

      March 19, 2011 at 8:36 pm

  4. Some more pictures of the magnificient RED Fort would have enhanced this post…..kudos

    March 17, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    • dhaami

      Totally agree. However I am clumsy and shaky so night shots without a tripod are almost impossible for me πŸ™‚ But thank you. I will try to get back there and take more next time.

      March 17, 2011 at 4:04 pm

  5. Beautiful silhouette in the last picture. Looks haunted with those flying birds. Loved all the pictures.

    March 17, 2011 at 11:05 am

    • dhaami

      Thanks Shiju! The last one is my favorite too..

      March 17, 2011 at 1:06 pm

  6. You are terrific with the camera I must say. πŸ˜€
    Lovely pictures…
    It’s sad that after a lifetime in Delhi, I still can’t say I have visited the Red Fort.

    March 17, 2011 at 10:06 am

    • dhaami

      Thank you dear girl πŸ™‚ And I know what you mean.. We tend to assume we can see the place we live in anytime we want and yet never do..

      March 17, 2011 at 1:07 pm

  7. Love the Red Fort. The diwan-e-aam shot is especially awesome.

    March 17, 2011 at 9:02 am

    • dhaami

      I fell in love with it too. Last time I went it was hot and humid and I was generally in hate with Delhi. But this time it held an irrepressible allure. I hope I make it there again

      March 17, 2011 at 10:12 am

  8. Beautiful images.

    March 17, 2011 at 8:22 am

    • dhaami

      Thanks Rajesh!

      March 17, 2011 at 10:10 am

  9. beautifully captured!!

    March 17, 2011 at 6:50 am

    • dhaami

      thank you πŸ™‚

      March 17, 2011 at 10:10 am

  10. Been living in Delhi for 4-5 years now, and I’ve never been to Delhi. Thank you for taking me there, though I keep visiting Lodhi Garden to just to see couples ‘gazing’ around! πŸ˜‰

    And tell me, is Dhaami your name, I mean your real name?

    March 17, 2011 at 1:54 am

    • dhaami

      Same here.. I have been in Gurgaon for more than a year now and didnt visit Delhi once. And now when I am close to moving out of here, I suddenly want to go and explore. Go figure.

      And Dhaami is a play on my childhood nickname..dhami.. the ‘dha’ is pronounced like the ‘dh’ in dhol and is a slang word for buddhu in marathi πŸ˜€
      When I started blogging, I thought it was best to be anonymous but gave up on that idea down the line

      March 17, 2011 at 10:10 am

Leave a Reply

