Confidence in nonsense is a requirement for the creative process

My woman of substance


Happy women’s day to all you fabulous women out there!

I’m not usually one to celebrate ‘days’. I always get flak for forgetting birthdays and anniversaries so the media endorsed ones are farther away. But women’s day is a different case. Not because I’m a bra-burning feminist but because I have experienced how hard it is being a woman even in the 21st century. Seeing all the great women around me having to struggle on a daily basis for simple joys makes me want to say something. If tomorrow, all women unite and refuse to give birth, it would be an interesting day for the human race.

The woman who makes me feel proud of being a woman is my mother. Because being our mother is not her only identity. She and my dad had a love marriage 30 odd years ago and they have been together now for almost 41 years. If you know India, you can imagine that is a pretty big rebellion for a woman in those times. Her parents-in-law never really accepted her but she made sure she took care of them till their last breath. She used to act in theatre as a young woman. She wanted to study law. But she fell in love and chose her family instead. She does not regret that at all but it gives me a pang of sadness sometimes thinking what might have been.

This captures her personality very well.. of a smiling person with a quiet strength who appears to be a supporter but is in fact the inspiration

So today’s day is for my mom.
A woman who has stood by her family in good and tough times.
Who has weathered the many setbacks her health has thrown to her with a smiling face and a grit I have never seen in anyone else.
Who supported her husband’s dream of building a business by making sure that the family was taken care of.. financially and emotionally.
Who is always there for anyone who wants her time.
Who is an avid reader and thinker.
Who actually reads my blog, comments and gives me feedback. Again, knowing some of the other women from her generation, it’s a huge deal that she is internet savvy.
Who is nearing 60 and yet doesn’t look a day over 40.
Who has a sense of humor and her childlike wonder intact.
Who always makes sure she is well dressed every time she steps out.
Who after 41 years can still laugh with her husband.
Who has a kind encouraging word for me every time.
Who has stood by me in all the disappointments I have caused her.

She is my woman of substance.

Tell me about yours..

18 responses

  1. madhuri

    felt really good after reading the blog about my sister. God bless you!

    March 20, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    • dhaami

      Thank you maushi!

      March 20, 2011 at 8:35 pm

  2. madhuri

    i feel very nice after reading the blog .

    March 20, 2011 at 12:00 pm

  3. THIS is my favorite post of yours. The picture captures everything you described about her and your tribute was very moving. Made me cry…

    March 10, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    • dhaami

      Lilly! Hugs!!! I know making someone cry is not a good thing.. but causing that emotion in someone is, right? Thank you my dear..

      March 11, 2011 at 10:09 am

  4. Wow! This was incredible tribute.

    March 10, 2011 at 9:58 am

    • dhaami

      Thanks Barkha! Really appreciate that πŸ™‚ I am awed by your blog.. will visit back soon

      March 11, 2011 at 10:18 am

  5. This is such a special post and I love the way you’ve captured her. Gorgeous!

    March 9, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    • dhaami

      It’s quite special to me too.. Thank you Eleni πŸ™‚

      March 10, 2011 at 5:22 am

  6. Shweta

    Fabulous indeed.. I am short of words !! .. and I soooo LOVE that pic of kaka & kaku.. I suddenly miss being at your home now.. remembering all the fun we had back in school times.. tight hugs ~ Shweta

    March 9, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    • dhaami

      Shweta!!! Thank you πŸ™‚ It’s been soo long right.. were you there when we spent the entire afternoon jumping on the bed to the beat of cotton eye joe?! I remember it was 6 of us πŸ™‚ Hugs to you!

      March 10, 2011 at 5:21 am

  7. Delightful that was… πŸ™‚
    Hats off to your Mom and I wish she has many more wonderful years ahead.

    March 9, 2011 at 10:05 am

    • dhaami

      Thank you !!

      March 10, 2011 at 5:21 am

  8. dhaami

    Love your mum..she has such a happy smile.. of a genuinely warm person!

    Thank you for your words Kenny.. I’m dumb struck..
    so for now just hugs to you..

    PS: I WISH I could go to Parsons but sadly not .. my only training so far has been a 15 day course in the technical basics of the camera.

    March 9, 2011 at 7:19 am

  9. that was a lovely tribute!

    March 9, 2011 at 6:51 am

    • dhaami

      Thanks magiceye!

      March 9, 2011 at 7:21 am

  10. I am so taken by it Dhaami, that I may guest post on my blog. I don’t have a poem for it, but I am determined that people see this.

    If I where nearby I give you a hug – bugger tradition.

    March 9, 2011 at 1:44 am

  11. Oh my goodness woman, you are fantastic. You know that don’t you? There are some pieces of yours, especially when people are involved, that just explode.

    This is one of them.

    It resonates with such personal energy it explodes.

    It leaves nothing hidden, leaves nothing left behind but the human spirit, blazing at the edges, ripping the photo apart.

    This is quality photography, and you should enter it wherever you can. It belongs to so much more than you.

    I am just bursting with pride, and I don’t even know you. If you can produce work like this, the world would be a better place.

    Have you ever been to school? You would eat Parson’s for dinner, you would take New York by storm.

    Can you tell I’m excited?

    Just a little bit.

    The intensity of this piece is something to be reckoned with.

    Seriously, you need to submit it as many times to as many places you can. You owe it that.

    And frame this for your parents.

    Here’s my mum;

    http://kolembo.wordpress.com/2011/01/24/mothers-make-it-alright/

    March 9, 2011 at 1:43 am

Leave a Reply

