Confidence in nonsense is a requirement for the creative process

experiment


Over exposure is one of my favorite ways to mess around with an image. Mainly because it means I’m breaking rules.. no surprises there. Yep, this is a purposefully taken shot.

The image is of a very run-down neighborhood of laundry men popularly known as the ‘dhobi ghat’. (if you enjoy thought provoking cinema I highly recommend a recently released movie by the same name) These guys live and work in conditions that one would never want to step in but the clothes come out super white and daisy fresh at a fraction of the price that the dry cleaners charge. I will post a properly exposed image tomorrow for you to see what I mean. But till then you have to indulge me with my whimsy. And you would agree, doesn’t it look almost like a painting? ๐Ÿ™‚

Edit: As promised here is a better picture of the dhobi ghat. I could have taken close up shots of the people and their houses and the hanging clothes to make it look artistic and appealing to my creative sensibilities. But at the end of the day, this is what the reality is. Sometimes its better to accept that.

6 responses

  1. Sanskriti

    my first response to the over-exposed pic was… ‘whoa…what’s tht?’

    on a second glance it kinda reminds me of ‘white noise’..the book, the concept…

    it’s an imagery of a post-modern world where there’s too much clutter & chaos and yet some semblance to reality…

    liked how the shot brought on such a thought!

    ~Sanz
    http://sanz360degree.wordpress.com/

    February 24, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    • dhaami

      Interesting interpretation ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for visiting!
      I’ve been meaning to read that book. Do you recommend?

      February 24, 2011 at 7:50 pm

      • Sanskriti

        ya, i do recommend it. it’s satirical and has a great social commentary, especially on consumerism.

        easily one of the best books!

        ~Sanz

        February 24, 2011 at 10:06 pm

      • dhaami

        cool! I’ll try to find it and let you know what I think ๐Ÿ™‚

        February 25, 2011 at 9:42 am

  2. dhaami

    ๐Ÿ˜€ I love that every one interprets photos with their unique view! I added a glow to the second picture because it looked so dingy, it made me sad. So I tried adding a bit of saturation and light.

    February 18, 2011 at 4:27 pm

  3. I love the second picture you posted. I don’t know how you’ve post processed it, but great effect it’s creating….I think the second one looks more like a painting.

    the first one looks like an abstract painting with a lot of white ๐Ÿ˜€

    February 18, 2011 at 3:34 pm

Leave a Reply

