Day 30: tangled in words..

365photos 2011, randomness, Self

One of the many sonnets. Yes I’m nerdy/geeky/dorky/ whatever you may call it, enough to like Shakespeare. He does not belong to today’s world and yet he does. Love is still the same after he described it some 400 odd years ago. Or is it?.. Maybe not. Maybe that’s why I find myself alienated when hearts get broken and people move on like nothing ever happened..

Anyways I digress. What I really started today’s post was for a request. Love of reading precedes my love of writing. The smell of old and new books..the promise of a story.. of lots of new ideas and thoughts gets me happy. Curling up with coffee and a book is always high on my priority list. (Yep, some may call it a sad life) Well anyways, the stack at my night stand has left me uninspired lately. So please help me out with a new reading list..

To make it a bit more challenging, there are rules. Oh, yes, you thought you would get away easily? 😀

Rules: Don’t take too long to think about it.
Tell me fifteen books you’ve read that will always stick with you. First fifteen you can recall in no more than 15 minutes.

Cop out: If you cannot name 15, name as many as you can
I go first.
In no particular order:

1.Shantaram-Gregory David Roberts


2.The Fountainhead -Ayn Rand

3.Mrityunjay (marathi) -Shivaji Savant

4.Scandal in Bohemia – Sir. Arthur Conan Doyle

5.Illusions -Richard Bach

6. Jonathan Livingston Seagull -Bach again


7. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

8.Love Story -Erich Segal

9.Train to Pakistan-Khushwant Singh

10. The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett ( a childhood favorite that I can still read anytime)

11. Gone with the Wind – Margaret Mitchell

12.Wuthering Heights– Emily Bronte


13.Sakhi(marathi) V.P.Kale


14.The catcher in the Rye -J.D. Salinger

15. Breakfast at Tiffany’s – Truman Capote

your turn 🙂

PS: Thought I’d share this find with you. If you enjoy illustrations and graphic design, maybe you’d find this interesting.
Book Cover Archive

10 thoughts on “Day 30: tangled in words..

  1. Your list includes a few on mine, but anming some anyways.

    Doctors – Erich Segal.

    Prizes – Erich Segal.

    The Host – Stephenie Meyer.

    The LOTR Trilogy.

    Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen.

    The horse whisperer – Nicholas… (something)

    Toxin – Robin Cook

    Paths of glory – Jeffery Archer.

    The Prodigal daughter – Jeffery Archer.

    Gone with the wind.

    Marley and me.

    Breaking Dawn – Stephenie Meyer.

    Eragon.

    1. Nice Ayushi! Thank you 🙂 I couldnt read the LOTR trilogy but it has been a while since I picked up a Jeffrey Archer.

  2. Loved Shantaram!

    I’m trying to come up with some of my favorites that you don’t already have on your list…you have many of my choices already, less Pride and Prejudice.

    The Intention Experiment by Lynne McTaggart was fascinating to me and a fairly recent read.

    The Diary of Anne Frank will always be one of my favorites. I think everyone should read it.

    One I need to read again is Letting Go of the Person You Used To Be by Lama Surya Das. Reading this book was like popping a magic pill! You feel so happy and full of love and feel like there’s no problem you can’t overcome. No matter what one’s opinion is of Buddhism, there are many things you can take from this book and implement.

    Those are just a few but lately I’ve been on a non-fiction kick.

    1. Me too! As in loved Shantaram. And I even though I do prefer fiction to non-fiction I do end up reading a few books here and there. ‘Letting Go..’ sounds interesting. And I’ve read the diary of Anne Frank though it was a while ago. Maybe I should find it again.

      And thank you for taking the time Lilly 🙂

  3. There are lot more, but these are the 15 books I could remember on top of my mind

    To kill a mocking bird
    Freakanomics
    Kite Runner
    The Immortals of Meluha
    Harry Potter Series (7 of them)
    Digital Fortress
    Angels and Demons
    The daVinci Code
    The Lost Symbol

    1. Hi Vee! Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the list. I havent read the ‘Immortals of Meluha’ I read about it on your blog. Did you end up posting a review of the book?

  4. Passionate Vegetarian, by Crescent Dragonwagon

    Blankets, by Craig Thompson

    Clan of the Cave Bear, by Jean Auel

    The Diamond Throne, by David Eddings

    Home Comforts, by Cheryl Mendelson

    The Underachiever’s Manifesto, by Ray Bennett

    Entre Nous, by Debra Ollivier

    The Days Are Just Packed, by Bill Watterson

    How to Cook Everything, by Mark Bittman

    The Joy of Less, by Francine Jay

    All Things Bright and Beautiful, by James
    Herriot

    The Home Organizing Workbook, by Meryl Starr

    Six Thinking Hats, by Edward de Bono

    The Blank Slate, by Steven Pinker

    This Is Your Brain on Music, by Daniel J. Levitin

Leave a comment